AGHADA through to the East Cork U21AFC Final



Aghada 2-10
Midleton 0-07

AGHADA are through to the East Cork U21AFC Final where they will meet Glanmire following their victory over Midleton in Shanagarry last Saturday afternoon.

It took a while to get going with both sides contributing nine wides between them before Charlie Terry sent one over from a placed ball on the tenth minute.

The score vitalised the men from Rostellan who had a four point lead two minutes later following a goal from Jamie O’Hanlon who was in the right place at the right time to see it home.

Terry was on target a minute later with another well taken free, then Midleton registered their first score on the 19th minute with a Padraig O’Brien free.

The rest of the half belonged to Aghada who scored three further points to lead by seven points at the short whistle.

Aghada started the second half just as they had let off in the first with two scores both from play by O’Hanlon and Terry.

Midleton responded with a point of their own, but ten minutes into the second half Niall Hill was fouled in the small square and a penalty was awarded and the Aghada man got himself up and then despatched the ball into the bottom left hand corner of the net.

Trailing by eleven points Midleton to their credit never gave up and put together four unanswered points from Tommy O’Connell, Padraigh O’Brien, Sean O’Meara and Garran Manly and twice the ‘Magpies’ hit the woodwork in the final quarter of the match.

In the closing stages Midleton were awarded a penalty.

Ciaran O’Shea guessed right and saved the shot from Manly, but as the ball came back towards Manly there was a scramble for the ball and O’Shea was driven into his own net and was fouled and had to be replaced by Aaron Berry and even then Aghada stood tall to see it out.

Scorers for Aghada:

J O’Hanlon 1-3, N Hill 1-1, C Terry 0-6 (4f)

Scorers for Midleton:
G Manly and P O’Brien 0-2 each, T O’Connell, S O’Meara and S O’Leary-Hayes 0-1 each.


C O’Shea;
B Stafford,
J McDonald,
D Phelan;
K O’Shea,
K O’Donoghue,
S Byrne;
C Galligan,
J Tynan;
M Leahy,
C Terry,
M McCarthy;
N Hill,
L O’Connell,
J O’Hanlon.


J Norris for B Stafford (36)
A Hogan for M McCarthy (53)
A Berry for C O’Shea (57)


A Power;
C Evans,
E Mitchel,
M Daly;
S Finn,
S O’Meara,
A Daly;
E Moloney,
C Murphy;
C Gunning,
T O’Connell,
P O’Brien;
G Manly,
S O’Leary-Hayes,
H Wall.

K Farmer for C Murphy (ht)
R Lynch for H Wall (37)
C Power for A Daly (54)

Ger Scully (Killeagh)