Cloyne Announces New Community Council


People from the village of Cloyne village surrounding areas took to the Ballot Box in September to vote members positions on the Cloyne Community Council. Over the course of a week in late September, nominations forms were delivered to each household in the catchment area.   The forms were then collected from the drop off point (Cloyne Post Office) and tallied. At the AGM last Monday, 8 October, the results were in as follows:

Chairperson – Tori Hawthorne

Vice Chairperson – Tommy Hartnett

Treasurer – Lisa O’Lomasney

Vice Treasurer – Brian Harty

Secretary – Siobhán Nally

PRO – Emilie Peneau

Speaking with The East Cork Journal, Siobhan Nally (newly elected Secretary), Siobhán said, “We were delighted with the turnout at the AGM and especially with the many new faces. It’s great to see new members with a keen interest in the future of our area and community.”   Out-going Chairperson, Mairéad McCarthy opened the AGM with a kind address. The new committee would like to thank Mairéad and members of the former committee for all their great work over the last three years which included the placing of Heritage signs around Cloyne and liaising with local Councillors to improve footpaths, provide a new car park, organising the 4K winter series and much more.


Following the announcement of the newly elected Council, the meeting continued, discussing the workload ahead. There are some exciting plans for Cloyne, the details and progress of which will be forthcoming over the next few months.

The town recently received €50,000 as part of the Town and County Renewal Grant Scheme. This grant application was submitted by the Cloyne Tidy Towns group, a sub-committee of the Community Council. This will go towards village enhancement, including the restoration of the Litton Fountain.

Siobhán added, “The new committee are hardworking people, passionate about continuing to make Cloyne a town of which we can all be proud.”