Cork wins “Canon O’Brien Cup”

• Sean O’Donoghue Cork blocks down Mark Kehoe UCC during the Canon O’Brien Cup game at the Mardyke

CORK 1-24
UCC 1-23

Cork continued their build up to the National League with a useful workout against UCC in the annual “Canon O’Brien Cup” played at the Mardyke on Sunday.

Again Cork had a mixture of youth and experience on display with Patrick Horgan resuming the free-taking duties, although Declan Dalton, who lined out at full forward, bagged 1-1 in the opening half. That goal helped Cork to shade the outcome in the opening half leading by 1-13 to 0-15 in what was a competitive enough affair.

UCC too are preparing for Fitzgibbon Cup and Cork players such as Mark Coleman, Niall O’Leary, David Griffin and Eoghan Murphy lined out with the College on this occasion. In the second half the closeness continued with Mark Coleman gaoling from a free to push UCC ahead. However Cork fought back with sub Stephen Condon getting the winning point as Cork reclaimed the trophy.

Again Robert Downey played well when introduced while Declan Dalton too had a good opening half, before being replaced at half time. Cormac Beausang also showed up well in attack. Cork will face Kilkenny away in their opening league encounter and at the moment there is plenty of competition for places.

Cork: P Horgan 0-9, D Dalton 1-1, S Kennefick 0-4, C Joyce and C Murphy 0-2 each, J Coughlan, C Beausang, P Leopold, S Condon, T O’Connell and D Kearney 0-1 each.

UCC: C O’Leary and M Kehoe 0-5 each, M Coleman 1-1, S Conway 0-3, R O’ Donoghue, M O’Halloran and S Kingston 0-2 each, E Murphy, D Walsh and S Hayes 0-1 each.

Cork: P Collins, S O’ Donoghue, D Calahane, C O’Callaghan, C Joyce, P Leopold, W Kearney, D Kearney, C Murphy, S Kennefick, P Horgan, C Walsh, J Coughlan, D Dalton and C Beausang. Subs used R Downey for W Kearney, D Condon  for D Dalton, T O’Connell for J Coughlan, C Power for C Joyce and C O’Brien for D Kearney.

UCC: J Barry, N O’Leary, E Gunning, D Lynch, C O’Leary, E Murphy, D Griffin, P Cadel, M Coleman, D Walsh, S Conway, R Donoghue, M Kehoe, M O’Halloran and S Hayes. Subs used S Kingston for S Conway, K O’ Dwyer for N O’Leary, A Casey for D Walsh, E Sheehan for S Hayes, T Millerick for E Gunning, J O’Sullivan for R O’Donoghue, D Desmond for J Barry and W Henn for M O’Halloran.

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Aghada)