Extra Time winner sees Midleton capture Munster Senior Cup

• Noel Spillane ex Cork Evening Echo presents the the FAI Munster Schools Senior Cup to Arthur Ngannu Midleton CBS

Midleton 1
PBC Cork 0 (AET)

Success keeps on coming for Midleton CBS as their Soccer team are the latest side to capture Munster success as they claimed the Munster Senior Schools Cup with a late Loic Neufang goal giving Midleton victory with just one minute of extra time remaining in the clash with Presentation Brothers Cork, at Douglas Hall Astro pitch on Monday afternoon.

Midleton played with the aid of a difficult breeze in the opening half but it was PBC that had the first shot with Robert Geaney O’Brien shooting over. Gradually Midleton began to get on top in midfield with Joe Stack, Sam Reilly and Shane O’Riordan getting on the ball. However, PBC were proving to be a tough nut to crack with goalkeeper Cillian Martin in inspired form. Joe Stack hit a free into the area with Loic Neufang heading it into the path of James Collins who saw his shot cannon off the crossbar and into the hands of a relieved Martin. The PBC keeper continued to impress as in the 25th minute he got down low to save from Charlie Whalley.

The City school rarely troubled a well organised Midleton defence but in Robert Geaney O’Brien they possessed a constant threat and he forced Midleton captain Artur Nganou into a fine stop, while at the other end Martin again saved well from Neufang as it remained goal-less at half  time.

On the resumption Jason Falvey hit a shot over the bar for PBC, but then Midleton with Joe Stack pulling the strings, took control and some fine approach work just needed the finishing touch to put Midleton in front. The impressive Mathew O’Reilly in the no 10 shirt tried hard to unlock a stubborn PBC defence where Brian Murphy and David Sahm impressed. The best chance in this half fell to Charlie Whalley who got to a through ball ahead of Martin, but his shot over the keeper was taken off the line by a covering defender as the sides finished all square after 90 minutes.

In the opening period of extra time neither side created any decent chances as tired legs began to appear. Fresh legs for both sides helped but it remained deadlocked after the first ten minute of extra time. Midleton were again playing into the breeze for the final ten minutes and they continued to probe for an opening. When it looked as if penalty kicks would be needed Midleton won a free kick and a good delivery caused panic in the PBC defence.

A few Midleton players had shots blocked before sub Jamie O’Hanlon saw an opening and fed the ball across goal for Loic Neufang to apply the finishing touch. It was no more than Midleton deserved as on the day they were the superior side, but a lack of goals almost cost them. There was just one-minute remaining when Midleton scored and the East Cork side were not going to be denied another Munster success to go with the Harty Cup won earlier in the season. Midleton captain Artur nGanou and Joe Stack along with sub Jamie O’Hanlon were on both panels with Artur accepting the Senior Cup from Noel Spillane, much to the delight of the large Midleton following.

• Midleton CBS celebrate winning the FAI Munster Schools Senior Cup Final at Douglas Hall (Photos by Denis O’ Flynn)

Artur Nganou, Dylan O’Halloran, Max Ahern, Adam Meade, Jamie Collins, Joe Stack, Sam Reilly, Shane O’Riordan, Loic Neufang, Mathew O’Reilly and Charlie Whalley.

Subs used:
Neil Cunningham for Sam Reilly,
Jamie O’Hanlon for Charlie Whalley
and Jack Fitzgerald for Shane O’Riordan.
Other panel members Robbie Kimmil, Fionn Duggan, Mark Daly, Diarmuid Byrne, griffin Hurley, Mathew Cody, Robbie Treacy and Eoghan Martin.

Cillian Martin, Sam Gallagher, Shane Cotter, David Sahm, Brian Murphy, Conor O’Neill, Frankie Horgan, Brian Lynch, Robert Geaney O’Brien, James Falvey and David Busker.

Subs used:
James Price for Conor O’Neill,
Ethan Giltanan for Sam Gallagher,
Geoff Holden for James Falvey
and Tim Cronin for David Busker.
Unused squad players Misha O’Flynn, Luke Higgins and Daniel Donovan.

Tim Kelleher.