Munster final


Limerick win Munster Hurling Final

Limerick 2-26
Tipperary 2-14

Limerick sent out a strong message that they intend to hold onto their All Ireland crown as they hammered the previously unbeaten Tipperary in the Munster Final at LIT Pairc na nGael in Limerick last Sunday afternoon.
The All-Ireland and National League champions turned in a tour de force performance to blow Tipperary away, especially in the second half of what was a decent enough contest.
Tipperary playing with the breeze were not quiet as good as they had been in previous games, but a superb solo goal from Seamus Callanan looked to have them back on track. Limerick however were not letting Tipperary get away from them and a great goal from Peter Casey after Aaron Gillane did the donkey work levelled matters with Limerick driving on with points to put them into a 1-11 to 1-9 interval lead after playing against the breeze in the opening half.
Limerick who had the wind to assist them on the resumption certainly rose to the occasion and a second goal from Kyle Hayes put them on their way to the title and a place in the All -Ireland semi-final.
Limerick had splendid displays from Declan Hannon, Mike Casey, Diarmuid O’Keeffe, Richie English and Sean Finn in defence while Will O’Donoghue and Cian Lynch were on top at midfield. In attack, Peter Casey, Tom Morrissey, Kyle Hayes, Graeme Mulcahy and Aaron Gillane got the necessary scores as John Kiley’s side continue to impress in knockout games.
Limerick are now just one win away from getting back to the final while Tipperary will meet the winner of the Dublin/Laois preliminary quarter final, with Dublin looking the most likely to emerge from that contest.

Leinster Final Win for Wexford

Wexford 1-23
Kilkenny 0-23

In the Leinster Final Wexford had a 1-23 to 0-23 win over Kilkenny as Davy Fitzgerald’s team ended a 15 year wait to capture the title. Kilkenny led by a point 0-15 to 0-14 at half time but in a tight second half a penalty from goalkeeper Mark Fanning was the decisive score to claim the Bob O’Keeffe Cup.
Wexford are now still unbeaten in this year’s championship and like Limerick are just one win away from reaching the final. It was a great day for the Model County as their minor hurlers were also successful in the opening contest in Croke Park to make it a great day for Wexford.
As a result of this result Kilkenny will now meet the winner of the Cork/Westmeath clash in the quarter-final with Cork the most likely team to emerge from that contest. Most people would have expected Tipperary and Kilkenny to emerge as winners and while both are still in the running it is Limerick and Wexford who are the first teams into the semi-final.