Thomas Kent Annual Commemoration


Saturday 12 May 2018 at 4pm, Thomas Kent Park, Rostellan.

The "Thomas Kent Annual Commemoration " will be held on Saturday 12 May 2018 at 4pm in Thomas Kent Park, Rostellan.
M.C. Mr. Donal Walsh
Mr. James Walsh, Aghada will deliver a historical oration
Mr. Billy Fitzpatrick will discuss L Company, 4th Battalion, 1st Cork Brigade, IRA
Readings from the 1798 Procolamination and Countess Markievicz election speech.
Introducing the Castlelyons Pipe Band.
Introducing local musicians
Women’s Suffrage
This year marks the 100th anniversary of the Representation of the People Act 1918. This Act gave voting rights to women for the first time. Notable in the campaign for women’s franchise were Cuman Na Ban, the Irish Citizens Army and the Irish Womens Workers Union. Two notable people were Constance Markievicz and Rosie Hackett.
1918 General Election
This year also marks the anniversary of the 1918 General Election. It is seen as a key moment in modern Irish history. It saw the defeat of the Irish Parliamentary Party and a landslide victory for the Sinn Fein Party. This led to Sinn Fein forming the first Dail in Ireland.
L Company, 4th Battalion, 1st Cork Brigade, IRA
Paddy or PJ Higgins was the first Captain of the Aghada (‘L’) Company upon its formation in 1917.
Aghada was part of the 4th Battalion (incorporating most of East Cork area) of the Cork No One Brigade. He remained captain until his promotion to Battalion Quartermaster (for East Cork) and his incorporation into the Battalion’s Flying Column in 1920.
Wreaths will be placed to recognise the contribution of:
Thomas Kent
L Company, 4th Battalion, 1st Cork Brigade, IRA
The Clonmult IRA Volunteers
Denis Kelly
Dr. Padraic O’Suilleabhain
Aghada GAA
Recognising the achievement of the Intermediate Hurling and The Ladies Football in their successes in 2017.
Recognition and thank you to the Rostellan Development Association for the development of the Kent Memorial Park and for the continuing upkeep of the Rostellan area. In particular the contribution of the late Mr. Paul Flanagan.
All Welcome